Our Music Team

Director: Paul R. Wharram

Paul Wharram has been the Director of the County Classic Chorale since 2010. Born and raised in Leamington, he graduated from the University of Western Ontario with a Bachelor of Arts in French and Music education. His formative piano studies were with his mother, Gladys R. Wharram, ARCT, who first sat him at the piano when he was three years old. Before leaving Leamington, he studied organ with Allanson Brown and sang with the Leamington Choral Society under the direction of Helen Law. He taught elementary and high school music for four years in Merlin and Windsor before moving to Toronto and thereafter to Ottawa. Although working full‑time for the Canadian Red Cross Society and retiring as its Deputy Secretary General in 2010, he always made time to pursue his musical interests by conducting several community choirs, singing with the Tone Cluster Chamber Choir and directing the music program at McPhail Memorial Church for 21 years. He is currently the President of the Windsor-Essex Centre of the Royal Canadian College of Organists (RCCO) and is Choir Master and Music Minister at The Church of the Epiphany in Kingsville. Over the years, he has conducted many choral Elaine and Paulworkshops, taught music and offered sight-singing classes to singers of all ages.

Collaborative Pianist: Elaine Penner

Elaine Penner is a graduate in music from the University of Western Ontario. She is no stranger to the County Classic Chorale, having been its director in 1998 and 1999. As an educator, she taught music and conducted the choirs at United Mennonite Educational Institute (UMEI) in Leamington and retired in June 2014 as Principal of East Mersea Public School, where she was loved and respected by all of her students and staff.  In her ‘retirement’, she is the principal of the  South Shore Christian School in Leamington.  Elaine is a talented musician, pianist, conductor and composer having composed several original chorale works for the Chorale.


The County Classic Chorale Executive 2017 – 2019:

President – Adriana Reynolds

Vice President – Blanche Rabideau

Past President – John Tofflemire

Secretary/Treasurer – Louise Bryon

Music Librarians – Ken Cullen, Annetta Dunnion

Card Convener – Joan Enns

Section Heads – Elisabeth Dent/Ann Cotter, Jill Cervini, Don Matheson, Dave Stockwell

Guest Performers with the County Classic Chorale

South Shore Christian School Choir

Lynne Marie Mangan

Music Moves Kids

Erin Armstrong

Andrea Turner

David Palmer

Chris Lajoie